Contest Winners

2012 Tanka Society of America Contest

2nd prize:

a mountain
wrapped in purple haze
if only
I could go back
and misspend my youth

Honorable Mention

blank squares
in the crossword puzzle
my brother left
at the cancer clinic…
answers we never find

2014 Tanka Society of America Contest

Honorable Mention:

gentle waves
rocking the boats…
another storm
my mind predicted
never happens

5th Annual Kokako Competition

Highly Commended

last year’s leaves
scattered on the ground
after the hearing
we walk without speaking
to our cars, still holding hands

2015 Tanka Society of America Contest

1st Prize:

a tree trunk
lost in the shadow
of its branches…
another yes
when I meant to say no

Honorable Mention

sunlight slips
through a tangle of trees
after the layoff…
not knowing where to go
I take one step

Honorable Mention

squirrels
at the bird feeder…
anxiety
steals another moment
of my life

2 thoughts on “Contest Winners

Leave a Reply

