Wake Up and Smell the Poetry

On Saturday, Feb 18, I was the feature poet at a venue called Wake Up and Smell the Poetry. I showed  a video (below) and read some poems.

Here is a link to the video. It’s best to watch it in full screen mode:

Between the Words

And…the poems:

Haiku by Basho and Issa:

Basho

the temple bell stops
but the sound keeps coming
out of the flowers

Issa

don’t swat that fly!
see how he prays
with his hands, with his feet!

my old village lies
far beyond what we can see
but there the lark is singing

in this world
we walk on the roof of hell
gazing at flowers

the world of dew
is the world of dew
and yet…and yet…

 

The two longer poems of mine:

Encounter With a Poem

In my dream last night all the words
in all of the books still in print
had ripped themselves out of the pages
demanding their freedom.

Not knowing what to expect, I rushed down the stairs.

Imagine my relief
when the only thing unusual
was a poem by Billy Collins playing cards
in the kitchen.

Each line was in its own chair
except the ones that rhymed
and they were sitting together.

One of them held something
that looked like a cigarette
and I didn’t really  mind
as long as he smoked in dimensions.

A tall line of verse, on a semi-colon cushion,
observing a cobweb in the corner of the ceiling,
played a clever simile

Which held the trick
until a short line on the right
trumped it with a metaphor.

Interrupting
as politely as I could
I offered them a non-smoking room
inside my kindle

and away they went, on iambic feet,
back into the pages of their book.

 

Passing a Lake At Dawn

I pass this lake every morning without noticing,
but today  an oval of sunlit blue
surrounded by grey clouds
looks like a spaceship in the sky

and I’m trying to drive but there’s a ladder
of slanted light floating down
and  my head jerks around
like a robot suddenly given life

and the mist is rising
and the face of the lake is still and serene
as if in a trance, or in a dream,

waiting for aliens to emerge from the sky
and take her away

and I could almost want to go, too
but there’s a left turn ahead
and so much to do.

senyru

invisible fence
his wife says the dog
will get used to it

~First Sonic Boom Senyru Contest Winner

performance review
I practice by bragging
to my wife

~Prune Juice 16

managers’ lounge
three of them
troubleshoot the coffeemaker

~Sonic Boom 3

an old friend…
I duck down
the other aisle

~Moongarlic 6

Leave a Reply

